109 Summit Streeet
Walking Distance to Center of Campus: .05 miles
Schillhammer Hall is on the corner of Cedar Lane and Summit Street. Adjacent to the Miller Information Commons, this house marks the southeast corner of Champlain's campus. Residents of Schillhammer appreciate the caring, family like atmosphere. Schillhammer has a reputation of being quieter than other halls. Some of the rooms offer spectacular views of the beautiful Lake Champlain. Schillhammer is home to approximately 27 primarily first year students. Many of the rooms have adjoining bathrooms. Like all Champlain College residence halls, Schillhammer Hall has cable television and wireless internet. All residence halls are smoke and substance free, co-ed communities.
A Brief History of Schillhammer Hall
Year of Construction: 1895
Original Owner: Oliver O. Presbry
Year Acquired by Champlain College: 1994
The original owner of the house, Oliver O. Presbry, lived there from 1895 to 1921. The house was then occupied by various families, most notably James Cashman, Burlington City Engineer. In the late 1930's the house was converted to apartments. Champlain College purchased the house in 1994 and converted it to its current use. Champlain also purchased this building's Carriage House [link to Carriage House].
Richard Schillhammer graduated from Champlain College (when it was called Burlington Business College) in 1934. He founded Queen City Printers Inc. in Burlington in 1951, after working for seventeen years at the Free Press Printing Company. He retired in 1982. He has been an active community member, and joined the Board of Trustees of Champlain College in 1985, and served nine years. The Schillhammer family also boasts other Champlain graduates: son John, daughter-in-law Ann, granddaughter Shari and her husband, Randy Verge. In honor of his outstanding contribution to Champlain, East House was re-named Schillhammer Hall in June, 2008.