285 South Willard Street
Walking Distance to Center of Campus: Approximately .12 miles
Check out one of Chaplain's most unique buildings. The large foyer serves as a lounge for the students who live here and the sweeping staircase makes this a place where community thrives.
A Brief History of Bankus Hall
Year of Construction: 1889
Original Owner: Henry Ballard
Year Acquired by Champlain College: 1992
History: This is another of the Champlain College buildings that was designed by the architect A. B. Fisher. It was built in 1889 for the prominent Burlington lawyer Henry Ballard, who lived there until 1902. Frank Wells, of the Wells family that built 158 So. Willard Street and 61 Summit Street, lived there until 1916, when the house was purchased by Frank Abernethy, a local department store entrepreneur [link to Lyman Hall and Hill Hall]. In the 1930's the house was sold to Trinity College, which named it Mercy Hall. It was sold in 1960 to the UVM fraternity Phi Mu Delta, from whom Champlain College purchased it in 1992. The house has undergone extensive renovation since its purchase. Bankus Hall was named for John Bankus, Vice-president of Finance at Champlain College from 1965 to 1977.